Accessing Databases Off-CampusStep 4
This is the "Home" page of the "Using ProQuest Interdisciplinary Research Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
stac_logo

Using ProQuest Interdisciplinary Research Library  

From business and political science to literature ProQuest Interdisciplinary Research Library contains articles from magazines and journals and more than 4,070 periodical titles.
Last Updated: Jun 10, 2010 URL: http://stac.libguides.com/proquestresearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Step 1

Go to www.stac.edu and click on Visit the Library.

 

Step 2

At the top of the library database menu page, click on the subject area of your choice such as Arts & Humanities. ProQuest Interdisciplinary Research Library appears in the list for all of the subject areas.

 

 

Step 3 Click on ProQuest Research Library

 

Step 4 Searching

ProQuest defaults to the Basic search. Click on the Advanced tab at the top of the screen to build a search using pull-down menus.

  • Type a word or a phrase in the first text box.
  • Click on the pull-down menu to the right and select one of the search fields in which to search for the terms you have entered. For example, to search for an article about a particular person, enter the person's name in the text box, and then select Person from the pull-down menu.
  • To combine concepts, enter your search terms in the additional text box(es), and then select an operator from the pull-down menus on the left of the text boxes, or accept the default, AND.
  • To find articles published in a certain time frame, use the pull-down menu beside Date Range.
  • For Full-text only or Scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed, click in the appropriate box.
  • Click on the Search button to submit your search.

 

Step 5 Viewing Results

  • Ten citations will appear on each page. Click on Next to see the next ten citations. Click on Previous  to see the preceding page of results.
  • Notice Suggested Topics above the list of citations. Use these to enhance or narrow the search.

 

 

Step 6 Selecting An Article

  • Click on the title of the article that closely matches your search.
  • To view the summary of the article click on Abstract.
  • To see the full text click on Full text.
  • Along with the article title you will see the bibliographic information: author, journal name, date, etc.
  • You will have the options to print the article, e-mail it to yourself or save to a flashdrive. You will see these options on the screen below.
  • Cite this will bring the user to a choice of article citation formats.

      

 

Article

  • Upon selecting your article the user will see the Abstract followed by the Full Text article. In this example only part of the article appears.

 

 

User Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Subject Guide

Profile Image
Virginia Dunnigan
Contact Info
Lougheed Library
845-398-4216
vdunniga@stac.edu
 
stac_torch

St. Thomas Aquinas College
125 Route 340
Sparkill, NY 10976
845.398.4100

Admissions

Home

Support STAC

About STAC

Press Room

STAC Email

Athletics

Jobs at STAC

           
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip